IVF (In Vitro Fertilization)

In order to achieve pregnancy the sperm has to unite with the egg which released from the ovary. Normally this union is called fertilization, occurs within the falopain tube which joins the uterus to the ovary. However, in IVF the union occurs in the laboratory after egg and sperm have been collected and cultured together to form an embryo and then embryos are transferred to the uterus to continue growth.


There are five major steps in the IVF and embryo transfer sequence:

  1. Monitor the development of ripening eggs in the ovaries.
  2. Collection of eggs.
  3. Obtaining the sperm.
  4. Putting the eggs and sperm together in the laboratory and providing optional conditions for fertilization and early embryo growth.
  5. Transferring the embryos into the uterus.